The Commission is reassigning non-cadre officers such as District Magistrates (DMs) and Superintendents of Police (SPs) who have not attained the ranks of IAS and IPS respectively. It is relocating 8 non-cadre SSPs/SSPs and 5 non-cadre DMs across Gujarat, Punjab, Odisha, and West Bengal.

Moreover, transfers are being made where relatives of influential politicians hold positions as DMs/SPs. For instance, the SSP of Bathinda (Punjab) and the SP of Sonitpur (Assam) are being relocated.

In line with its dedication to ensuring fairness in the ongoing Lok Sabha Elections 2024, the Election Commission of India (ECI) has issued directives for the reassignment of non-cadre officers occupying leadership roles as District Magistrates (DMs) and Superintendents of Police (SPs) in Gujarat, Punjab, Odisha, and West Bengal. These positions are typically held by officers from the Indian Administrative Service (IAS) and the Indian Police Service (IPS) respectively.

The decision was made following a meeting chaired by Chief Election Commissioner Shri Rajiv Kumar, alongside Election Commissioners Shri Gyanesh Kumar and Shri Sukhbir Singh Sandhu.

The officers slated for transfer include:

  1. SPs of Chhota Udaipur and Ahmedabad Rural districts in Gujarat
  2. SSPs of Pathankot, Fazilka, Jalandhar Rural, and Malerkotla districts in Punjab
  3. DM of Dhenkanal and SPs of Deogarh and Cuttack Rural districts in Odisha
  4. DMs of Purba Medinipur, Jhargram, Purba Bardhaman, and Birbhum districts in West Bengal

Furthermore, the Commission has instructed the transfer of the SSP of Bathinda in Punjab and the SP of Sonitpur in Assam due to their familial ties with elected political representatives. These transfers aim to preempt any concerns regarding biased administration or compromised integrity.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here